icon-symbol-logout-darkest-grey

Sustainability Think Tank

Structure + Procedure

The Sustainability Think Tank (STT) was founded in November 2023 to develop a sustainability strategy for Heidelberg University. The overarching aim of the STT is to develop proposals for a coherent sustainability strategy for the university in a participatory process. All existing initiatives in the areas of research, research operations, teaching, transfer, communication and operations are to be brought together, further developed and analyzed with regard to desired cross-references. 

Five working groups (WG) were formed at the kick-off meeting in November 2023 along the aforementioned dimensions of action: Research, Research Operations, Teaching, Operations and Transfer/Communication. Their task will be to develop proposals for concrete measures towards sustainable development. The results of the working groups will be exchanged and checked for coherence and synergies in the STT plenum, which will meet twice a semester. 

Interested and committed university staff and students are invited to actively participate in the subgroups. The STT initiative was developed in the university's Commission for Research and Strategy and will maintain a close exchange with the Rectorate via the Vice-Rector for Quality Development and Sustainability, Prof. Dr. Karin Schumacher. 

The WG are described in more detail below:

  • WG Research: This working group pursues the goal of advancing sustainability research at the university. It is therefore dedicated to the question “what” should be researched, i.e. conducting more research on environmental issues and promoting interdisciplinary studies that focus on sustainable practices.
  • WG Research Operations: The aim of this working group is to make research operations more sustainable. Accordingly, it raises the question “how” research should be conducted. It's about how labs (or working groups) can become more sustainable. 
  • WG Teaching: This working group is dedicated to the task of developing proposals on how the university can further integrate sustainability in its academic programs i.e. by expanding its offerings in the field of Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). 
  • WG Operations: This working group develops measures on how the university can become a sustainable (learning) place and reduce its environmental impacts resulting from its day-to-day activities (i.e. energy consumption, waste management, water usage, and transportation). 
  • WG Transfer/Communication: This working group is dedicated to the question of how communication can be further developed internally and externally with regard to sustainable topics and how sustainability transfer activities can be expanded.

Your Ideas

Are you a student or member of staff at the university and do you have an idea on how the university can become more sustainable?

Then please answer a few questions via the link below. It will then be discussed at the next relevant working group meeting.

Your Idea

Interest in getting involved

Are you a student or member of staff at the university and would like to get involved in one of the Sustainability Think Tank's working groups on a regular basis (approx. 2h/week)?

Then please send us a short application by email with the following details: Your Name, your position, your background, your motivation and an indication regarding the working group you are interested in.

Contact persons

Irina Merz, Sustainability Manager at the University Heidelberg 
Dr. Max Jungmann, Executive Manager at the HCE 
stt@hce.uni-heidelberg.de

icon-symbol-logout-darkest-grey

Sustainability Think Tank

Struktur + Vorgehensweise

Zur Entwicklung einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für die Universität Heidelberg wurde im November 2023 der Sustainability Think Tank (STT) gegründet. Übergreifendes Ziel des STT ist es, in einem partizipativen Prozess, Vorschläge für eine kohärente Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der Universität zu erarbeiten. Hierbei sollen alle bereits vorhandenen Initiativen in den Bereichen Forschung, Forschungsbetrieb, Lehre, Transfer, Kommunikation und Betrieb zusammengeführt, weiterentwickelt und hinsichtlich erwünschter Querbezüge analysiert werden.

Entlang der genannten Handlungsdimensionen wurden im Kick-off Meeting im November 2023 die fünf Arbeitsgruppen (AGs) Forschung, Forschungsbetrieb, Lehre, Betrieb und Transfer/Kommunikation gebildet. Deren Aufgabe wird es sein, Vorschläge für konkrete Maßnahmen in Richtung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu erarbeiten. Im STT Plenum, welches zweimal pro Semester tagen wird, sollen die Ergebnisse der Arbeitsgruppen ausgetauscht sowie auf Kohärenz und Synergien geprüft werden. Interessierte und engagierte Mitarbeitende und Studierende der Universität werden dazu eingeladen sich aktiv in den Untergruppen einzubringen.

Die STT Initiative wurde in der Forschungs- und Strategiekommission der Universität entwickelt und wird über die Prorektorin für Qualitätsentwicklung und Nachhaltigkeit, Frau Prof. Dr. Karin Schumacher, einen engen Austausch mit der universitären Leitung pflegen.

Im Folgenden werden die AGs näher erklärt:

  • AG Forschung: Diese AG verfolgt das Ziel die Nachhaltigkeitsforschung an der Universität voranzubringen. Sie widmet sich daher der Frage, „was" geforscht werden soll, also welche Inhalte beforscht werden sollen.
  • AG Forschungsbetrieb: Diese AG hat zum Ziel den Forschungsbetrieb nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Sie stellt sich demnach die Frage „wie“ geforscht werden soll. Es geht darum, wie „Labore“ (auch AGs) nachhaltiger werden können.
  • AG Lehre: Diese AG widmet sich der Aufgabe Vorschläge zu erarbeiten, wie die Universität ihr Angebot im Bereich Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) bzw. Nachhaltigkeit in der universitären Lehre ausbauen kann.
  • AG Betrieb: Diese AG entwickelt Maßnahmen, wie die Universität ein nachhaltiger (Lern-)Ort werden kann.
  • AG Transfer/Kommunikation: Diese AG widmet sich der Frage, wie die Kommunikation hinsichtlich nachhaltiger Themen nach innen und außen weiterentwickelt werden kann sowie Nachhaltigkeitstransferaktivitäten ausgebaut werden können.

Ihre Ideen

Sie sind Studierende:r oder Mitarbeitende:r der Universität und haben eine Idee, wie die Universität nachhaltiger werden kann?

Dann beantworten Sie bitte über den unten stehenden Link ein paar Fragen. Ihre Idee wird dann in der nächsten entsprechenden AG Sitzung besprochen. 

Ihre Nachhaltigkeitsidee

Interesse an einer Mitarbeit

Sie sind Studierende:r oder Mitarbeitende:r der Universität und möchten sich in einer der AGs des Sustainability Think Tanks regelmäßig einbringen (ca. 2h/Wo.)? 

Dann schicken Sie uns bitte eine kurze Bewerbung per E-Mail mit folgenden Angaben: Ihr Name, Ihre Position, Ihr Hintergrund, Ihre Motivation und eine Angabe, in welcher AG Sie sich einbringen möchten. 

Studierende können sich auf verschiedenen Wegen einbringen. Erfahren Sie hier wie:

Mitwirkung von Studierenden

Ansprechpartner:innen

Irina Merz, Nachhaltigkeitsreferentin der Universität Heidelberg 
Dr. Max Jungmann, Geschäftsführer des HCE 
stt@hce.uni-heidelberg.de